Reading Strategies: Tuesday, August 21st, 2012: Is Football Just too Dangerous?

DRO: Daily Reading Objective

Before We Read:

1) Are you a fan of football?  Why or Why not?

2) Do you believe that sports are dangerous?  Why or Why not?

3) Have you ever received an injury from playing sports or from P.E.?  What happened?

During Reading:

1) Under the yes section: provide three pieces of evidence that the author uses to support that football is too dangerous.  Be specific!!

2) Under the no section: provide three pieces of evidence tha the author uses to support that football is not too dangerous.  Be specific!!

3) Find 5 words you are unsure of in the text.  Use context clues to define them.

After Reading:

1) Which side was more convincing?  Give three supporing details that support your opinion.

2) What are the author’s purposes in writing each of their sides of the issue: to inform, to persuade, to entertain?  Why did you choose your answer?

Exit Ticket:

1) Have you ever been belittled infront someone else? What happened?  How did it make you feel?

2) Do you believe that our society is run by elitist?  Why or why not?

6 thoughts on “Reading Strategies: Tuesday, August 21st, 2012: Is Football Just too Dangerous?

  1. 1)yes I’m a fan of football it’s a cool sport to play.
    2)yea if you aren’t playing the rite way are not wearing the rite stuff.
    3)Sprung my ankle in basketball.

  2. 1.I am a fan of football because I have once played football. Also it’s fun because you get to relieve stress,and paint . If you have problems or angry you can take it out on da field.
    2. They could be but they are not you may get hurt while you play. You still shouldn’t think it’s to dangerous because football is not a female sport it’s made for men.
    3. Yes, I broke my ankle when we was playing kick ball.

  3. 1.) No ! I am not a fan of football, because it’s stupid & I’m a girl so it’s my least favorite sport !!! 2.) I don’t think sports are dangerous, but they can be due to what type of sport it is. 3.) No & I don’t plan on it…

  4. Dro. 1.)No i am not because I don’t get football and it’s o long and boring foreal.
    2.)some sports or not in some is it’s just what game u play in how u play it.
    3.)yes when we was playing volley ball in I feel trying the ball outch that hurtled.

  5. August 21, 2012 at 12:43 pm
    1.I am a fan of football because I have once played football. Also it’s fun because you get to relieve stress,and pain . If you have problems or angry you can take it out on the field.
    2. They could be but they are not you may get hurt while you play. You still shouldn’t think it’s to dangerous because football is not a female sport it’s made for men.
    3. Yes, I broke my leg playing football

  6. I think football is not too dangerous
    1)equipment
    2)learning how to tackle with your shoulders
    3)good coaches can teach you how to be safe
    The author is trying to persuade you

    Exit Slip:
    1)I haven’t been be belittled before
    2)yes because of rappers,sport players etc….

Leave a Reply

