Thursday, October 18,2012: Vocabulary & Skill Assessment

10-18-12

 

Do Now: Get your iPad

 

Go to www.mathewsmsb.wordpress.com

 

Select Thursday’s Assignment

 

Vocabulary Assessment:

Choose 3 of the vocabulary words you can relate to the most.  For each word, write a paragraph about how this word relates to you and your life.  You must use complete sentences.  Post in the reply box below.

Example:

Frantic:  The word I relate to the most is frantic.  I’m a worrier.  I worry about a lot of things.  When I become really anxious about something I become frantic.  I know that being frantic isn’t exactly good for me but its a feeling I know all about.

 

 

When you finish….

 

Your Study Island Assignments for the week must be finished today!!

 

4 Assignments:

 

Making Inferences

Making Inferences Part 2

Multi-Meaning Words

Multi-Meaning Words Part 2

 

******Extra Credit: Multi-Meaning Words Part 3

 

81 thoughts on “Thursday, October 18,2012: Vocabulary & Skill Assessment

  1. Fade: There is a a lot of ways to use fade. Everyday barbors cut a fade. When Micheal Jordan Takes A Shot He Fades Back so he can make the shot. The writing was old so it was faded..

  2. My mother is most reliable of me to be the responsible child in the house because my brothers are always losing things. I can keep multiple things from years back and they would lose something that they just got the day before.

  3. Arrangement: I can make an arrangement too stay after school toady. We made an arrangement to meet at the gym everyday to practice.

  4. Arrangement: I can barely depend on my mom to ever make any type of arrangement because she doesn’t know the numbers, she doesn’t know what to ask for, and most of the time she just doesn’t want to do it for me.

  5. Reliable : I can relate to this word because I am a reliable person , if somebody needs me to do something and I say I will do it I keep my word. And also I except my friends and family to be reliable if I need them .

  6. Arrangement : I can relate to this word because if I need something important done I can make an arrangement . Or if I don’t know how to do something I make an arrangement to get more help with it .

  7. Grueling: A 12 hour day at school can be very grueling, especially if I didn’t get enough sleep from the night before.

  8. Harass One day at school I saw a girl in my class getting picked on by another kid in class and then they called her names . She was tired of the kids keep picking on her so the girl went and told the teacher on the kids and the other kids got in trouble.

  9. Frantic : I can relate to frantic because I like to do exciting things and I don’t like to be bored . Also because frantic means wild with excitement and I like to do adventurist things .

  10. Harass: One of the words I relate to is harass. Because I have witnessed people getting harassed. It seems to be a very uncomfortable situation to be in.

    Shelter: I also relate to the word shelter. Because my house is my shelter. And where I feel most comfortable.

    Reliable: And lastly I can also relate to the word reliable. My bestfriend is the most reliable person to go to for advice. She’s always there for me no matter what.

  11. Harass: One of the words I relate to the most is harass. I Get harass a lot at home by my sister and brother about my hair and about me likeing webbie.

  12. Frantic: the word I relate to the most is Frantic because I worry bout the things I say too people and do sometimes.

    Grueling: the word I relate to the most is grueling. I be exhausting at times and I be so tiring .

    Shelter: the word I relate to the most is shelter. Why because at my home I feel very protected and other people feel protected to.

  13. A word that describes me and my life is the word foundling. Growing up my daddy was never there for me , I felt so abondoned. It wasn’t until my grandmother died that he decided to be apart of my life , and I was about 9 or 11 then .

  14. Mesmerized: Mesmerized relates to me because I have to mesmerize places to know where where I’m going or to get where I’m going. Throughout my whole life I have mesmerized faces, songs, and animals. In school I have to mesmerize my work so I can pass my test and quizzes.

    Enchant: Enchant relates to me because when I was younger a lot of things has enchanted my attention. Tv shows, music, people, books has enchanted my attention. I was also a heave daydreamer and enchanted about ponies and fairies. When I think of enchanted I think of the movie “Enchanted” which I really enjoyed and the movie explains the definition very well.

    Grueling: Grueling relates to me very well. School is a Grueling place to be 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. The teachers make it no better. We go through these grueling lessons that aren’t interesting at all. I can’t wait until I graduate from this grueling school.

    -Katricebrown

  15. Mesmerize relate to me because I be hypnotize By my girls beauty.

    Gawk relate to me because I be starring at people sometimes.

    Urchin relate to me because I’m a BLOOD.

  16. Mesmerize: I can relate to the word mesmerize. My looks are mesmerizing. When girls look at me they are mesmerized by my good looks.

    Gawk: I can relate to this word because when I see something that is ugly or interesting, I gawk at them. I think everyone hawks at something sometime in their life’s.

    Urchin: I can relate to this word because back in the day, I was a mischievous boy. I would always be doing something I shouldn’t. When I got caught, I was in trouble.

  17. Another word that describes me and my life is mesmerize. I remember when I first met my boyfriend , that was five years ago. I was mesmerized by his lovely eyes , Kind words, and gentle touch. I’ll never forget the day that I met him.

  18. Gawk: I didn’t like when Calvin gawk at me that way yesterday. I told my mother that Calvin was gawking at me. She told him to stop before she get him. Didn’t gawk at him so y me. That evening he stop gawking at me.
    Urchin: Calvin is a urchin boy because he do bad things in the world. Calvin need to stop hanging with the other urchins around our block. He is just follow behind them. I don’t want my other sisters and brother to turn like him. If Calvin can change his life around he won’t be a urchin.
    Torment: When I come outside at night to go hang with my friends, the bugs torment me. I get eaten up by them. They won’t leave me alone. My friends say that they don’t like bugs torment them, they go in the house. I go in the house so the bugs can stop torment me.

  19. 1 The word I relate to the most is gawk. I often stare at people rudely when they do things I don’t approve of. Some people are brave enough to say something about it some are not.

    2 The word I relate to the most is urchin. I tend to get in trouble when I am bored. I. Can remember when I was 5 the night before Christmas I opened up everyone’s gifts.

    3 the word I relate to the most is torment. I have two younger brothers. That I love to torture because they love getting me in trouble. So I torture them to get my paybacks.

  20. Grueling is another word that relates to my life. Every Friday we have to go to study hall , it’s soooooo boring in there I be grueling. I be so happy when it let out.

  21. 1 Gawk At school today This Boy was gawk at this girl when she was in her locker getting her book and then the girl went up to the boy and say why Are u starting at me.
    2 torment My brother always torment me when he be in my room. Messing with my stuff.
    3 Mesmerize The girl in my school she won the best eyes in the homecomingn court.

  22. Mesmerize- I can relate to that’s because some people have been mesmerized by my hair also when a guy sees a girl he really likes sometimes you can be mesmerized!

    Enchant- This word I can relate to because I think I enchant my mother & family everyday and sometimes they enchant me and light my day sometimes !

    Gawk- Sometimes people gawk you look at you really hard or you could gawk at the teacher sometimes if she/he say something you don’t like or give you a test !

  23. Grueling: I can relate to the word grueling. I am a full time student at McClure south Berkeley and I have a job as well. Sometimes it can be very exhausting for me because I don’t get as much rest as I should . Grueling can take away my fun that I have with my friends and family. Grueling can take you to the point where you don’t feel like being bothered.

    Torment: When it comes to torment Incan somewhat relate to this. Meaning I love scaring simply because the fun of it. I scare myself with scary movies and going places such as the haunted house , but I haven’t actually tormented myself to the point where I had nightmares. When I think of torment, I think of ghosts and witches.

    Urchin: When I was a younger child I was a bit mischevious. When I was in kindergarten I used to always have to face the consequences. As I grew , my behavior has gotten better and I am no longer urchin.

  24. Nyiara Flemings

    I am a very mischievious person. A couple weeks ago i got in trouble and had it was consequences i had to face. I’m trying to work on my attitude so i want keep getting in trouble i the future. #Urchin

    I be having these boys mesmerized by my looks. They just cant keep they eyes off me. They just love how pretty I am . I cant help it. #Mesmerized

    I hate when my teacher gawk at me. I be wanting to go off but something be stopping me. Ugh that just erk my soul. #Gawk

  25. Harass: The word harass is important to me because I hate seeing other people getting harass by people it hurt my soul to see a girl walking down the hallway and a boy come out of nowhere and touches her the wrong way

  26. Reliable: The word reliable relates to me because I’m a trustful worthy person and if you something you can rely on me.

    Grueling: The word grueling relates to me because when come any practice from a sport or stay up all night. I be tired in ready to go to sleep.

    Shelter: This word relates to me because I have a house and that’s where I sleep and protected when I’m inside.

  27. Shelter: the word I relate to the most is shelter even though shelter is a building that people go to its also a place of protection. Im really over protective over my Family and friends .

    Frantic: this is another word that I can relate to because I do often worry about others and how other people are feeling. And I’m also very passionate about other peoples feelings.

    Arrangement: this is also another word I can really relate to because I’m very organized at home I keep my room clean at all times and I have everything in certain place I rarely lose anything in my room.

  28. Harass- I can relate to the word harass. This is an everyday thing in school and the environment around me. People constantly touch me, look at me sexually, and say rude things to me. I know it won’t ever come to an end.

    Shelter- I am thankful for a shelter, a secure, loving home. Not many people are as fortunate as me and are homeless. My home is clean and stable. My mom, brother, and I all live together.

    Arrangement- I am sure to make arrangements every weekend. Making plans to go out or hang with friends are considered a break to me. A break from having to go to school every day for eight hours. I could never just stay in the house on my days off.

  29. Arrangement: The word that I feel that is important to me is arrangement because to have to keep things in order and make plans on what u want to do in life and at school.

    Frantic: The word that I feel that is important to me is frantic because I feel bad when I do something wrong and I get yelled at because I didn’t do my job or I didn’t do what my coaches told me to do.

  30. Harass: I don’t relate to it but I don’t like when other people harass another person cause if they don’t like u juss move on instead of keep messing with him/her.

    Shelter: I think is a good thing cause every body can’t afford a place to live so they should live in a shelter so they want have to live on the street.

    Arrangement: arrangement relate to me cause if I plane some thing to do with my friends an I can’t do it that day so I have to arrange to b with them another day.

    • Grueling:when I’m grueling I just want to lay down in the, but when I can’t I get mad so I dont want people to all to me because I don’t want to ake it out on them

  31. It would be amazing if president obamas wife Michelle Obama was a matron for the united states the next four years. I believe it’s needed. As well as wanted.

    The haircut I have now is a fade. It’s starts as an Alfaro and fades out to my lining. The origin of a fade started with African Americans in the late 80s with the high top fade or the box fade.

    Arrangement have be frequent in the past weeks of my life lately because of the problems I’ve been having school.my parents have been arranging meetings with the principal for my punishment etc….

  32. Shelter relates to me because I live in a house. I live in a brick house that protectes me against weather. I also see other people in living in shelter too. I see different color houses all the time walking home. They houses also protectes them against weather too.

    I like to watch frantic movies because its interesting. I also like it when it’s in scary movies. People look so scared in movies when their is some type of killer there. Some people also be worried about their kids when the are missing in the some movies. Some movies also have desperate people in them.

    Wen I’m at home I make arrangements for the weekend. I see what I’m going to do or go. Sometimes I go out to eat at a restaurant or something. I might go over someone’s house for a while. I also make arrangements for my work. I also do other things on the weekend.

  33. Harass : at my auntie house I always get harass by my little cousin for some reason .

    Frantic:I picked the word frantic because I worry about the things I say to people or do

  34. The word I relate to the most is reliable. All of my friend are reliable. I can talk to them about everything and don’t have to worry about my business being out in the open.
    The word I relate to the most is grueling. I am always tried when I get home from school. Also when I get home from church. I’m also grueling of this school.
    The word I relate to the most is arrangement. My mother and I have an arrangement. I can do what I want to do if I keep my grades up and stay out of trouble.

  35. Harass : Everytime I come to school my ex always harass me . I never like coming to school or be around him because he like to harass me . I wish he would stop harass me .

  36. Another word I can relate to is grueling. Everyday I have to get up at 6:30 for a grueling day at school. When I get out I get happy that I get to go home and sleep

  37. Reliable : I can relate to reliable because most people say I am reliable . If they ask me to do something , 9 out of 10 times I will do it . Depending on what they asked me to do.

    Fade : I can relate to fade because I own some pants that are partially faded. I also know some people that gets the haircut called the ” Fade ” 🙂

    Shelter : I can relate to shelter because for one , I live in a house . Also , I run to shelter when it start raining hard and stuff .

  38. Around Last Year When There Was A Tornado That Hit Through Ferguson , My House Was Fairly Close To The Tornado . Me And My Family Had To Seek Shelter In Our Basement Where It Was Safe . Thankfully We Weren’t Hit .

  39. Frantic: I worry a lot sometimes abut the littlest things. And sometimes it’s not even nothing big to even worry about, it’s just the type of person I am.

    Shelter: I can relate to shelter because I have a house. I live in a comfortable home. It’s a nice brick house not to far from the school.

    Arrangement: this apples to me because I like to have most of everything I do arranged, just to stay orderly. Most of time when I make arrangements with my friends they never go through, witch is dumb.

  40. Arrangement-This relate to me because my have my made a lot of arrangements. We had to make arrangement for my cousin and my brother funeral. While the arrangement were been made we have a candle light.
    R.I.P BMB Peanut

  41. Shelter – I can relate to shelter because I have a home to live & a very good reliable home to go to everyday .

    Harass- I can relate to Harasss b/c people get harass everyday including me.

    Arrangement – I can relate to this because I make arrangements .

  42. Arrangement: The dinning table arrangement look beautiful and elegant.
    Shelter: My grandpa use to have a cabin out in the boreal forest it use to be are shelter for the night till the next day.
    Harass: This old lady at the grocery store was harassing a little boy in the candy section.

  43. He hung back in the shelter of a rock. Hopes of peace had faded. The supporting cast includes old reliable source of information.

  44. 1.Harass: I don’t relate to it but I don’t like when other people harass another person cause if they don’t like u juss move on instead of keep messing with him/her.

    2.Shelter: I think is a good thing cause every body can’t afford a place to live so they should live in a shelter so they want have to live on the street.

    3.Arrangement: arrangement relate to me cause if I plane some thing to do with my friends an I can’t do it that day so I have to arrange to b with them another day.

  45. The Word Reliable Relates To My Life , Because My Mom Is A Really Reliable Person In My Life . She’s Always There For Me When I Need Her.

  46. The first word I can relate to is reliable. There is a lot of unreliable people in this world, my sister, my friends, and even my fans. I know that being reliable means you must be trustful
    Another word I can relate to is frantic. I worry about a lot of things. When I become really anxious about something I become frantic. I know that being frantic isn’t exactly good for me but its for me but it’s a feeling I know all about.
    The word I can relate to the most arrangement. My mother and I make arrangements to go out to eat. Me and my girl had a arrangement last night at 11pm. Yep! Arranging things is fun

  47. Harass-people are always beening harass.In our everyday life the news always say people or harass in school.Thats how it relate.a

  48. Arrangement Relates To Me Because When My Uncle Trin Propsed To His Wife , They Had To Have A Marriage Arrangement To Make Their Love Official . The Whole Wedding Arrangement Was So Beautiful .

  49. Shelter- We live under a roof that protects us from dangerous storms. We live in our house everyday thats our shelter .Thats how it relates to me
    M.I.P Marquis

  50. Reliable I am a pretty reliable person because people can come to me and ask for anything like advice food money ..ect and if I have it you have it no matter who you are.

  51. I can relate to the word shelter because I live in a house my house means the world to me because if did not have a house it would be hard to keep things dry if it rains and the dogs,cats and other animals can get to your food.

    I can relate to the word grueling because I do not feel like doing the work but I have to. I say it’s grueling to me because I’m a laid back person who do not like to do work and it makes me tired.

    I can relate to the word reliable because 9 out of 10when some thing I would do it. I’m very reliable people can trust me with doing thing with them, go places with them and other things.

  52. Harass- If I ever get harassed in or out of school I will but sure to tell a person of authority anytime it happen. This is an everyday thing in school and the environment around me. People constantly touch younger children, look at them sexually, and say rude things to them. Hopefully it will come to an end very soon because it’s not okay.

    Shelter- Not many people are as fortunate as me and are homeless. My home is clean and stable. My mom, sister, brother, and I all live together. But people with no homes sometimes live in shelters till they can get up on their feet and afford a house or apartment.

    Arrangement- Making plans to go out or hang with friends are considered a break to me. A break from having to go to school every day for eight hours. I could never just stay in the house on my days off. I always make arrangements when me. And my friends get together.

  53. Arrangement…I Can relate to this word because when I’m bouta to sum, I make an Arrangement.

    Grueling…I Can relate to this word because When I Come to school, I think of this word !

    Shelter…I relate to this word cus I live in A shelter as in A Home OR HOUSE. 🙂

  54. The word I can relate to the most is reliable. I am very reliable. My close friends know that they can count on me. Whenever they need me I’m always there. Being reliable to someone is cool because it makes me feel good to know I’m doing a good thing.

    Another word I can relate to is arrangement. I like making plans for things. It makes me feel like Im making all the rules or suggestions.

    One more word I can relate to is frantic. I relate to that word because if I lose my phone or misplace it somewhere, I get upset and worried. I’m never frantic most of the time but sometimes I can be.

  55. I can relate to shelter by the way it is like say u didn’t have any home I no money u go to a shelter for help.

    I can relate to aggrangement by like if I moved in my mom wanted to change things around in figure out how she want things aggrangement.

    I relate to fade as if say Annie had on a real gold necklace in Jeremiah had on a necklace that look the same but it was faded.

  56. Frantic: this word relates to me because that’s how I am at most times. Like when I wake up in the morning.

    Harass: this describes me because I like to harass my brother and sister.

    Reliable: it’s most like me because people can rely on me a lot at times like when they tell me secrets.

  57. 1) -arrangement- This word relates to me and my life in a lot of ways. This relates to my life because my mom always tell me if i want to get or do something make a arrangement. I almost always make a arrangement to have fun on the weekends.

    2) -shelter- This relates to my life because I have somewhere to live no matter what. I always have to be ready to go to next level of course. But that does not mean right at this point I won’t have shelter. Shelter is my temperorary home and I am thankful.

    3) -frantic- I am very frantic I just am everywhere sometimes. I am sometimes confused why I am so frantic.

  58. I could relate to the vocabulary word shelter because my home is a shelter. We’re you live at we’re you lay your head at night.
    I could relate to the word arrangement because I have plans everyday to go to school. Every weekend I have arrangements to go somewhere.
    I could relate to the word harass because some people are very annoying. Some people won’t leave you alone.

  59. The first word I can relate to is reliable. There is a lot of unreliable people in this world, my sister, my friends, and even my family. I know that being reliable means you must be trustworthy.
    The second word I can relate to is frantic. I have a lot of worries about many things. When I become really impatient about something I become frantic. I know that being frantic isn’t exactly panicing but I will make me start worry.
    The third word I can relate to the most is arrangement.. Me and my wife had a arrangement last night at 10pm.We went out to eat then went back home and “watched movies”.

  60. I am a reliable person when I comes to doing important things and showing up for work.

    Sometimes I have grueling weekends when I have company over.

    I make a lot of arrangements every weekend to go somewhere or to go see someone.

    #DAT TURNER KIDD

Leave a Reply

