Tuesday, October 30th, 2012: More Prefix Practice and Tier 2 Vocabulary

Applied Communications:  Your 2 Tier 2 Words for today :

1) abbreviate= verb-to shorten

Example: My last name is so difficult to pronounce, people often abbreviate it to make it easier.

2) abstract=adj- confusing, not clear—-noun-a summary

Math ideas are often abstract to me; I just can’t seem to understand math.

Reading Strategies:

1) alter= verb-to change

Example: My mom told me I needed to alter my attitude or pay the consequences.

2) according=adjective-in relation to, in proportion

Example: According to Ms. Mathews, we will have a vocabulary test on friday.

Assignment:  In the reply box below:

Use your classes’ words and relate them to you in some way.  You can write a sentence or tell us what they are like or what they are not like.   You must do both words.

When you finish…

You must finish on study island:

  • prefix practice 1
  • prefix practice 2

Exit Ticket:

Note two prefixes that you learned while practicing.  Leave a reply in the box below.

45 thoughts on “Tuesday, October 30th, 2012: More Prefix Practice and Tier 2 Vocabulary

  1. abstract, sometimes sicence is abstarct to me
    abbreviate, i abbreviate when i do some of my class work and don do good on my test

  2. Alter: It is often common for individuals to alter their options about certain situations.

    According: According to the law, all children are required to go to school for a certain amount of hours.

  3. My teacher says I need to alter my actions in class if I dont want to get in trouble.
    According to my docter I am allegic to peaches.

  4. Abbreviate means to me is shorten your sentence.

    Abstract means to me is something that is clear. Like the sky is clear.

  5. Katrice Brown

    1.) I abbreviate words when I text.
    example: Text message ‘txt msg’

    2.) Abstract means difficult to understand.
    example: The word “poem” is concrete, the word “poetry” is abstract.

  6. 1.) I abbreviate words when I text. Such as Text message Txt msg this abbreviates the word.

    2.) Abstract means difficult way to understand. For example The word poem is concrete the word “poetry” is abstract of how it means difficult

  7. Alter :example people alter in many different ways

    according:example basketball is a great sport according to the coaches

  8. abbreviate; means to shorten a word …for example instead of spelling message people put msg

    abstract; means difficult to understand : for example fourn language if your american it would be difficult to learn chinese

  9. 1.) I abbreviate words when I take notes or text.
    Ex: Blvd: Boulevard Dr. : Doctor Appt: Appointment

    2.) Abstract means complicated or inaccurate.
    The maze I attempted to complete was very abstract so I gave up.

    • abbreviate; means to shorten a word …for example instead of spelling message people put msg

      abstract; means difficult to understand : for example fourn language if your american it would be difficult to learn chinese

  10. I abbreviate a lot when I am taking notes during class. Example : IV : Independent Varaible

    My mom told to alter my behavior if I want to go on the field trip .

  11. 1.) I abbreviate words when I take notes or text.
    Ex: Blvd: Boulevard Dr. : Doctor Appt: Appointment

    2.) Abstract means complicated or inaccurate.
    The maze I attempted to complete was very abstract so I gave up.

  12. I alter my surroundings when I feel uncomfortable.
    According to my mom, if I don’t clean my room I don’t get my money.

  13. The moving screen from Bosh alter the play from Lebron James for the slam.
    According to the NBA James Harden Is Now Playing For The Houston Rocket .

  14. For prom I will have to get my dress altered so that it fit me the way that I want it too.

    According the news it supposed to rain today around 3 o’clock.

  15. The moving screen from Bosh alter the play from Lebron James for the slam.
    According to the NBA James Harden Is Now Playing For The Houston Rocket .

  16. 1.) I need to alter my room.
    2.) According to the weather you can tell its getting closer to winter.

    🙂 Kadijah T.

  17. 1.) When People Text Each Other, They Often abbreviate Their Words.
    2.)Before The Teacher Went Over The Class Work, it Was A Few Students That Was Abstract.

  18. I had abbreviated my name because it was too long.
    My dad coming home and fussing at everyone is an abstract idea to me..

  19. Alter: Alter my phone number when people calls and plays on my phone sometimes.

    According: according i will start reading books.

  20. Alter: The loud music altered my focus during the test.
    According: According to Susie, Matt didn’t complete his homework.

Leave a Reply

