January 17th, 2013: Zero Hour-Fathers

Objectives:

 Students will practice reading to gain reading fluency and reading comprehension.

Students will connect with a topic of interest and blog to gain better understanding, critical thinking skills, and interpersonal skills.

Students will practice the common core standards’ focus on understanding  non fiction texts and writing to learn.

Students will connect with the text and formulate responses that reflect critically about the text.

DOK: 3 & 4

Blog below:

Tell us about your father. 

-Who is he? 

-Does he live with you?

How do you feel about your dad?

-Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you?  If so, whom?  and Why?

Today we are going to explore the idea of the Father.

Lets take a look at some statistics:

Link: http://fatherhood.about.com/od/fathersrights/a/fatherless_children.htm

In a new blog post:

* Post three stastics that stood out to you and why they stood out to you.  Each statistic should have a paragraph attached to it.

15 thoughts on “January 17th, 2013: Zero Hour-Fathers

  1. Tell us about your father. my Father is a hard working man!!

    -Who is he? Ramone smith father of one girl and three sons

    -Does he live with you? No i don live with my father

    -How do you feel about your dad? i feel like my father treats me like my age and i don blame him..

    -Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you? If so, whom? and Why? Yeahh My Cuzzin Charron whenever i need a place to stay i can alwys go to stay with him till i get right.

  2. My father is a very determined man and he will do anything for any of his children. When he says that heis going to do something it may not be right then, but he does get the job done. My father’s name is Anderson Charlse Davis. This man is actually my step-father, my brothers’ dad. I haven’t seen my dad in years by choice because of certain personal reasons. So i consider this man to be my dad. He has been in my life and treated me like a daughter ever since I was born. I also consider him to be my father because he is the one that raised me and not my actual father.

  3. Tell us about your father.

    -Who is he? My father a nice dad

    -Does he live with you? no he dont live with me he is sick

    -How do you feel about your dad? i feel good about my father

    -Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you? If so, whom? and Why? is there are some father out there that like my father my uncle treat me like a my dad . and i talk to him about my problem.

  4. Tell us about your father.Who is he? he is a maintenance man, and partier
    Does he live with you? yes
    How do you feel about your dad? He is cool,awesome,and funny
    Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you? If so, whom?,and Why? not really except for my grandfather who was taking care of me when my mom moved because of her job.

  5. My father is a cool person, He’s down to earth my father dosen’t stay with me unfortunately. He is the one who raised me for a little when i was young. I feel that he looked after me, showed me the right way, gave me advices, supported me, and did many and many things for me. I dont think no one is more like a father to me than my father.

  6. who is he ?i dont know

    does he live with you ? no he doesnt

    how do you feel about your dad ? hes a low life bastard

    are there other men in your life that are more of a father to ? no there are not

  7. Behavioral Disorders- Fatherless children can have behavior problems because they desire a father figure in their life.

  8. -Who is he?

    -Does he live with you?

    -How do you feel about your dad?

    -Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you? If so, whom? and Why?

    My father is a bold father figure and always takes care of his responsibilities. My father is living with me and makes sure my every needs and wants are satisfied. My Cousin Dwan Speed…He talks to me about making the right decisons and about my future.
    Follow me Twitter…CMONEY10100….Dawg Team…Rampage

  9. Behavioral Disorders. 85% of all children that exhibit behavioral disorders come from fatherless homes (Source: What Can the Federal Government Do To Decrease Crime and Revitalize Communities? – see link below)

  10. Blog below:

    Tell us about your father.

    -Who is he? he a man who always been about work he don’t play about his kids he love all 15 of us in i love him to that what type of dad he is

    -Does he live with you? no he don’t

    -How do you feel about your dad? i feel good about my dad in i’m happy for the type of dad i got

    -Are there other men in your life that are more of a father to you? If so, whom? and Why? no

    behavioral disorders 85% of children that exhibit behavioral disorders come from fatherless home (source:what can the federal government do to crime and revitalize communities)

  11. My father is a cool person to chill and talk with. He’s a loving hard working man and will do anything to help people. Yes I do live with my father. I feel like my father be pushing me too hard sometimes. There are no other father figures in my life.

    • 1) High School Dropouts. 71% of all high school dropouts come from fatherless homes (Source: What Can the Federal Government Do To Decrease Crime and Revitalize Communities? – see link below)

      2) Juvenile Detention Rates. 70% of juveniles in state-operated institutions come from fatherless homes (Source: What Can the Federal Government Do To Decrease Crime and Revitalize Communities? – see link below)

      3) Aggression. In a longitudinal study of 1,197 fourth-grade students, researchers observed “greater levels of aggression in boys from mother-only households than from boys in mother-father households.” (N. Vaden-Kierman, N. Ialongo, J. Pearson, and S. Kellam, “Household Family Structure and Children’s Aggressive Behavior: A Longitudinal Study of Urban Elementary School Children,” Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology 23, no. 5 (1995).

Leave a Reply

