February 7th: Literacy and School

Objectives:

Students will understand how literacy and their future are related.

Students will read for information.

Students will compare and contrast.

 

Before you read and view:

1) Do you think you read on grade level?  Why or Why not?

2) Do you care if you read on grade level?  Why or Why not?

Read this short article: http://www.greggriffin.com/Reading%20Scores%20and%20Prison%20Beds.htm

1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter?

2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion?  Why or Why not?

3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote.  Why did this stand out to you?

Now watch Dr. McCoy’s 4 minute video about Literacy:

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwWHBbeZdtg

4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message.

5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read?

6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you?

56 thoughts on “February 7th: Literacy and School

  1. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    I think I should have a better grade. On my reading score and I want to be a succuful person this year .
    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?yes I care About my reading score beacuse I always read everyday and I understand my word when I reading too.

  2. 1- no I don’t believe I read. On my grade level. I say this because I feel like I should get 28 on my act. But instead I have a 16.

    2- I feel like I should care because reading is what our life is wrapped around, if your no good at reading then a lot of things in life will become a struggle. But really I don’t care

  3. 1.)No I don’t believe I read on my grade level because my star test reflect that I don’t.

    2.)Yes I do care if I read on grade level because I want to get to the point where I can comprehend on my grade level and when I get to college I want to to be able to understand what I am reading.

  4. 1.) no I don’t think I read on grade level because I feel I should read about my grade level.

    2.)yes I do care if I don’t read adove grad level becasuse I do I just feel it should be high.

    3.)He talks about how important reading is and how it effects your life’s.

    4.)Those who don’t read will work of someone who dose.

    5.) that school and reading is very inmporant.

    6.) he talks about how important read and school is.

    • 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
      Yes, because I’ve been reading on 12th grade level since 9th grade.

      2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
      Yes, it would be embarrassing not to read on grade level and your basically grown.

  5. 4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message.
    I got out of the DR McCoy message was he say always stay force on what u doing and always have a good eduction in your life . And then he say Help other your school doing what they do.
    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read? It similarities to the video I just saw it the same as I just read about eduction because it talk about eduction and how to help you read and your grade.

    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you?
    This video stand out to me because it talk about getting a educated and help me get my grade and and getting extra help with my work.

  6. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    Yes , Because I read very good with good flow.

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    Yes , because it affects my future or maybe a future careers.

    Read this short article: http://www.greggriffin.com/Reading%20Scores%20and%20Prison%20Beds.htm

    1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter?
    It’s about children’s education and showing how reading affect people’s future.

    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not?
    Yes, because reading is very important in a child’s life.

    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you?
    “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” Because read is needed in everyday life and without it your not going to be successful.

    Now watch Dr. McCoy’s 4 minute video about Literacy:

    Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwWHBbeZdtg

    4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message.
    The School is improving bit by bit ,
    There is things we need to improve on and there are new program .
    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read?
    It all has to do with the education of beings.

    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you?

    We are fully accredited and always will , it stands out because there only a few of accredited school close.

  7. I think I read on my grade level but I can do better if I read a little more .

    Yes I care because reading is a everyday life Skill

    1.) The authors message is telling people we should invest in our craft to make something of ourselves .

    2.) I agree because you have to survive in this world the more education you have the more money you may have .

    3.) Those who do not read will work for those who do .

    4.) This message is similar to the article they want you to be successful read more invest in yourself .

    5.) There similar because they both talk about investing yourself to make you a better person.

    6.) When he talks about how you should care about your craft.

  8. From the article-
    1.) In the article the author is trying to say that it’s important that we read because if you don’t read, you are liable to get caught up one day or end up in jail.
    2.) Yes I do agree with the authors opinion because most of the time that is true.

    3.) “Those who don’t read will one day work for those who do” Basically this quote is saying if you don’t read you are going to be working either at a fast food restaurant rather than have a real career in other words.

  9. 1) I think I should have a better grade. On my reading score and I want to be successful this year.

    2) I care about my reading score because I always read everyday and I understand my word when I read too.

    3) “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” This stood out to me because its true what he’s saying.

    4) DR McCoy message was saying always stay force on what you doing and always have a good eduction in your life.

    5) It similarities to the video I just saw it the same as I just read about eduction because it talk about eduction and how to help you read and your grade.

    6) This video stands out to me because, it talks about getting a education, keeping my grades up, and staying focus.

  10. 4-To stay on top of the education that ferguson Florissant school district produce. Reading and math skills are so vital.

    5-both of the videos have to do with education and how vital it is to stay on top of your education every day is a new day.

    6-math and reading is vital and is needed thorught the world today. If you want to make money then math and reading is the way to go!

  11. YouTube video-
    4.) Dr. McCoys believes that we should read and take life seriously.

    5.) they both discuss the issue of our youth reading on their grade level.
    6. What stood out to me was when he talked about the consequences of not reading. This inspired to me to read more.

  12. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    Yes , Because I read very good with good flow.

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    Yes , because it affects my future or maybe a future careers.

    Read this short article: http://www.greggriffin.com/Reading%20Scores%20and%20Prison%20Beds.htm

    1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter?
    It’s about children’s education and showing how reading affect people’s future.

    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not?
    Yes, because reading is very important in a child’s life.

    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you?
    “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” Because read is needed in everyday life and without it your not going to be successful.

    Now watch Dr. McCoy’s 4 minute video about Literacy:

    Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwWHBbeZdtg

    4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message.
    The School is improving bit by bit ,
    There is things we need to improve on and there are new program .
    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read?
    It all has to do with the education of beings.

    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you?

    We are fully accredited and always will , it stands out because there only a few of accredited school close.

  13. 1) I think I should have a better grade. On my reading score and I want to be successful this year.

    2) I care about my reading score because I always read everyday and I understand my word when I read too.

    3) “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” This stood out to me because its true what he’s saying.

    4) DR McCoy message was saying always stay force on what you doing and always have a good eduction in your life.

    5) It similarities to the video I just saw it the same as I just read about eduction because it talk about eduction and how to help you read and your grade.

    6) This video stands out to me because, it talks about getting a education, keeping my grades up, and staying focus.

  14. 3.) Those who do not read will work for those who do .

    4.) Dr. McCoys believes that we should read and take life seriously.

    5.) they both discuss the issue of our youth reading on their grade level.

  15. 1) I think I should have a better grade. On my reading score and I want to be successful this year.

    2) I care about my reading score because I always read everyday and I understand my word when I read too.

    3) “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” This stood out to me because its true what he’s saying.

    4) DR McCoy message was saying always stay force on what you doing and always have a good eduction in your life.

    5) It similarities to the video I just saw it the same as I just read about eduction because it talk about eduction and how to help you read and your grade.

    6) This video stands out to me because, it talks about getting a education, keeping my grades up, and staying focus.

  16. I think I read on grade level, because I pass my test on the computer….. Forgot the name of the test.
    I care if I read on grade level because if I didn’t I would be dumb in the computer through the teachers.

  17. I don’t believe I read on grade level but I am improving increasingly.

    I care about this because you’ll have to read throughout life to be successful.

    The article states that one who reads and who successfully reads by third grade lack criminal activity in the future.

    “Those who don’t read, will work for those who do.” This stands out to me because it states that reading could have you in a higher position as a boss or owner. The key to success is reading evidently.

  18. Reading is an option that most do not choose
    Education is serious and without it your a statistic
    Issue of youth and grade level

  19. 3.) Those who do not read will work for those who do .

    4.) Dr. McCoys believes that we should read and take life seriously.

    5.) they both discuss the issue of our youth reading on their grade level.

  20. 1. don’t believe I read on grade leve , but I know I’m a good reader .

    2. I do care about this because you’ll have to read though out your whole life to be successful .

    1. Those who don’t read will work for those who do .

    2. Dr.McCoys believes that we should read and take life seriously .

    3. Yea , because reading is important n a child’s life .

    4. Those who do not read will one day work for those who do because reading is needed in everyday life and without it your not going to be success .

  21. 1.do you think you read on your grade level why or why not?
    No I don’t because sometimes I stop when I read,but I think I could read more books but I don’t
    2.do yo care if you read on grade level why or why not?
    yes I do care because if you can’t read you really can’t do anything,get a god job or anything?
    1.American adds $5 million dollars of economic value to society during his lifetime. The opposite is true if that same citizen is unsuccessful. Children who read below grade level suffer great shame and humiliation.
    2.yes I do because children need a education,and a good future.
    3.it stood out to me because it is true but kids act like school don’t mater when they suppose to be happy that they can go to school.

  22. 1) yes I thinki read on grade level.
    2) yes I agree with the authors opinion, because he has a good point.
    3) The author wants to make school better.

  23. 1.yes I feel I read on my level because it shows that I improve since my freshman year.

    2.yes I car about reading on my level because it reflect how well I read and work.

    1.The author message is that he want us to read more to expand our reading level.

    2.yes I agree with the author opinion because the people in the United State need to read on their level

    3.”those who do not read will work for those who do” this mean that people will work for the people who read above average

    4.The message that Dr. McCoy is trying to get to us is to understand the important of reading and achieving our reading level.

    5.They both talk about the school and there reading level.

  24. Do I think I read on grade level why are why not
    Yea I think I do because the thing I read make sense to me.

    Do I care if I read on grade level why are why not
    No because I just don’t care long as I no how to read

    • Do I think I read on grade level why are why not
      Yes, I think I do because the things I read make sense to me.

      Do I care if I read on grade level why are why not
      No because I just don’t care as long as I know how to read.

  25. 1)I Do read on my grade level it shows the success i have done this year.

    2) I care about my reading score because I always read everyday and I understand my word when I read too I always improve .

    3) Those who do not read will one day work for those who do.” This stood out to me because its true to what he’s saying.

    4) DR McCoy message was saying always stay force on what you doing and always have a good eduction in your life to be successful.

    5) It similarities to the video I just saw it the same as I just read about eduction because it talk about eduction and how to help you read and your grade and to become better in your grade.

    6) This video stands out to me because, it talks about getting a education, keeping my grades up, and staying focus on my goal.

  26. 1) The author states that kids should read more because it will help them be successful in life.
    2) Yes I agree because I think that kids need to read more and need help with their reading.
    3) “Those that do not read well will one day work for someone who does.” I liked this quote because I think people should start learning how to read better.

  27. I think. I read on grade level its just some time heard to read out loud yes I care if I didn’t I would not be here

    • I think I read on grade level its just some time heard to read out loud. yes I care if I didn’t I would not be here.

  28. Forget the star the star test I’m a genius and yes I do read on my grade level because I’ve had a 11 on the star test before.

    Yes I care because I have a bright future.

    The author is about how important reading is and how it effects your life’s.

    Those who don’t read will work of someone who does.

    I like this quote and it stands out the best to me because its true.

    school and reading is very important, he also talks about how important read and school is.

    I do agree with the author life is too short to waste time. Reading is very important.

    Dr. McCoy video stood out to me because he spoke the truth, learning from the text book is not the best way. It’s best to learn from a hands on approach for better academic learning.

  29. 1) The author’s message in the article/letter is to read.

    2) Yes I do agree with the author’s opinion because he gave good examples in the article and he knows what’s best.

    3) One quote that stood out to me is “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.”
    This stood out to me because I do believe in that and that is a true statement.

  30. 1) Do you think you read on grade level why or why not? I don’t think so because I read fluently and my reading scores have been going up this year.
    2) And yes I do care about my reading level because it is exceptioinal and important to your education.

  31. (1) Do you think you read on grade level ? Why or Why Not
    I think I do , because when I read i dont stumble. It flows.
    (2)Do you care if you read on grade level ?
    No , because if I know the words and I know how to read then im fine.

  32. 1) The articles message is that if you don’t learn how to read you will never be able to gain the skills you need to be successful in life.
    2) Yes I agree with the author because if you don’t know how to read how do expect to advance on in life.
    3)those who do not read will one day work for those who do.”
    this quote stood out to me because I agree it is the truth.

  33. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not? I don’t I read one grade under .

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not? Yes, I need to catch up on my reading in order to be successful.

    1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter? People that read under grade level tend to be apart of criminal activity. They are less likely to be successful then the ones that read on grade level or above.

    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not? Yes, He is probably right.

    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you? “those who do not read will one day work for those who do.”
    It’s true.

  34. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    Smething like that because if dont know how to read thin i cant make it in life.
    2 Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    NO because i dont care what peoplr think about me.

  35. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not? Yes.because i dont have trouble with anny words or sentences.

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not? Yes.because so i can pass my class knowing to know how to read and not going to the next grade stumbling.

  36. 1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter?
    The author’s message is to help get on grade level with reading. Its also stating that if you are not on grade level reading then how you can get on there by reading at local library’s and other kids around the neighboorhood.
    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not?
    Yes , because the more you read the better you get and if you read more to the other students then maybe when your reading scores come back they will be better then last.
    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you
    ” Those who do not read will one day work for those to do”
    This means when you read at good level then you get far in life so if you dont read then one day your boss is gonna be someone who did read.

  37. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?NO I do not Read On Reading Level

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?No I do not care if im reading on level because its not that imporant

  38. 1. No, I dont think I read on grade level because when I read too fast I forget what I just read and cant summarize it all.

    2. Yes , I care if I read on grade level because I want to make it successful in life and would not want to know how to read.

  39. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    I think i do Cause when i read i dont stumble on words.

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?
    no because i know how to read and i dont have to worry about anything.

  40. 1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter? The message of the article is that the peopple who can read at their reading level most likely grow up a nice person,and a person hat doesnt know how to read gets involved in crimes.

    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not? Yes.because people who dont know how to read they feel ashamed and feel like if they dont know how to read do things that doesnt involve reading.

    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you? “Children who read below grade level suffer great shame and humiliation. Children who can successfully read by the third grade are rarely involved in criminal activity”. It stood out to me because it is true.

  41. 4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message.
    If a student can not read on grade level the student can not preform. It is very important to read on grade level.

    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read? They both talk about how important reading is and how it can effect you in life.

    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you? ” If students can’t read on grade level then the student can not preform.”

  42. 1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter?
    You can help the kids who dont know how to read.
    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not?
    No because i like when people read to me in orther.
    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you?You can read to a child. There are literacy programs in your area. Call your local library and let them know that you would like to volunteer to read to a child.

  43. 4) Dr McCoy’s message was about how Ferguson Florissant School District is doing great academiclly but we achieve higher if we can get everyone on the same level so everybody will achieve in life.
    5) Thier similar because they both share the same meaning that if you don’t read you will not succed in life like others who can read will.
    6) What stood out to me was the fact that if you don’t perform on either reading level or higher you are killing you chances of becoming anything in life even if your good at everything else your reading skills are a neccessity.

  44. 1) What is the author’s message in the article/letter? To let you know that sometimes reading can help you develop in life

    2) Do you agree with the author’s opinion? Why or Why not? Yea because reading will be needed in the near future of life

    3) What is one quote from the article that stood out to you? Type quote. Why did this stand out to you?when he said one dollar books are the best book .that stood out to me because they really are

  45. 1)Do you read on a grade level ? YES I DO
    2)Do you care if you read on grade level?yes because reading is everything in life and math .
    3)What is the author’s message in the article/letter? The author’s message was we need get our kids on higher reading level / on they’re reading level .

  46. 4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message. His message was about our school credidation.also it was about the teachers having extra classes to help the child.

    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read? Its telling details about kids not reading on grade level.

    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you? When he saiid the teachers have extra classes to help the child. because the teachers are taking time out of thir schedule to help the kids.whe they dont have to.

  47. 4) In 2 sentences, summarize Dr. McCoy’s message
    what i got out of the Dr.McCroy message is that he stay force on what you doing and always have a good education in life.
    5) What similarities does this video have with the article that you read?
    its similarities the same as i just read about education because it talked about how it can help you.
    6) What did you hear in the short video that stood out to you? Why did this stand out to you?
    the video stands out to me because its talks about getting a good education and helping me get good grades.

  48. 2. Some of the symptoms are vomiting , coma and other chemicals.
    3. They are smoking this synthetic marijuana because it’s being soled at stores and it say legal on the package.
    4.if my friend was smoking synthetic marijuana I would tell them it’s not healthy to their body nd they can possibly die from it.
    5. Their are a lot of dangers of smoking synthetic marijuana. You can possibly die from this marijuana and do a lot of vomiting. I wouldn’t condone buying this marijuana from the stores. It might say legal but it get you sick and put you in a coma.

  49. 1) Do you think you read on grade level? Why or Why not?NO: Because i do not read. i listen and thats how i learn the best.

    2) Do you care if you read on grade level? Why or Why not?Yes: Because i dont want to be grown and dont know how to read.

  50. I read above my grade level. I constantly read.

    Yes i care about it. If i didnt then i wouldnt be comprehending all of the reading i do.

    That reading is a very essential part of your life, and that it can either help or hurt you, depending on how much you read.

    Yes i do actually, because reading increases your vocabulary, and that is a very improtant factor for many things in life.

     

    “Many states predict needed prison space based on third grade reading scores.” This stood out for me because i’ve definitely seen that quote many times before.

    Random junk that makes the school district sound good. Then introducing a website that is supposed to help with reading and math.

    They both try to get you to improve your reading habits.

    3 to 5 words per subject area a day. Because if people are learned 3 to 5 math terms a day back in kindergarden and understood them, america would be on china’s level in math skills.

Leave a Reply

