February 27th: Sleep and Teens

Objectives:

Students will read for comprehension and application.

Students will organize their findings in a graphic organizer.

Students will take an interactive quiz for reading comprehension.

Students will practice understanding cause and effect.

Before you Read:

1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average?

2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school?  Why or Why not?

Watch these videos to get you started:

Video 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfk4MiIlS0g

Video 2: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/video/flv/generic.html?s=frol02sfacq392&continuous=1

In the blog:

3) Tell me 3 things you learned from the videos.

4) How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep?

Read this article:

Article: http://www.scholastic.com/scopemagazine/PDFs/SCOPE-031113-PairedTexts.pdf

As you read, fill out the graphic organizer to understand cause and effect.

WHEN YOU FINISH: INTERACTIVE QUIZ: http://www.scholastic.com/scopemagazine/PDFs/SCOPE-031113-PairedTexts-InteractiveQuiz.pdf

TAKE THIS INTERACTIVE QUIZ.  WHEN DONE, SELECT SCORE-EMAIL TO  ME AT  

AMATHEWS@FERGFLOR.ORG

35 thoughts on “February 27th: Sleep and Teens

  1. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average?

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not?

  2. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average? I don’t go to sleep.

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not? Yes because I know I can be successful under any condition.

  3. I learned from the video is always stay health and when u slp at nite it make u feel better in the mornings by exercising , eat breakfast and do 20 or 30 mile running everyday

  4. 1.) I get an average of 8-10 hours of sleep.
    2.) Yes I do think it’s enough for me to have in order to be successful at school because with this amount of sleep I am ready to learn.

  5. I usually get anywhere from 2 to 4 hours of sleep a night.

    Its enough sleepto be successful, because i can wake up early enough and can still focus on work.

  6. I learned that sleep affects you’re mood, learning, and developement.

    I can definitely relate to the video because i hardly get any sleep at all, although i can usually function well.

  7. 1.)From the videos I learned that sleep patterns change with the start of puberty. Most teens get an average of 7 1/2 hours of sleep. Teens need at least 9 hours of sleep per night.

    2.) it’s hard for me to get in the morning as well.

  8. 3) Tell me 3 things you learned from the videos.
    Sleep patterns change with the start of puberty.
    Teens need at least 9hours of sleep per night.
    Lack of sleep can affect learning,memory,mood, and any contribute to injuries.

    4) How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep? I cant Relate because I get enough sleep.

  9. 3. In the video I learned that you can get injuries from not having enough sleep and that most teens on a average get at least 7 1/2 hours of sleep every night.

    4. I can and can’t relate because I personally think I get enough sleep and that most teens get at least 7 hours of sleep.

  10. 1. 10
    2. yes ,
    3. sleep keeps you healthy , no sleep can lead to bad health , and also bad grades
    4.Sleep Affects My grades

  11. 1. I believe I get at least 8 hours of sleep on average.
    2. Yes and No , because when students have the spare time to sleep they are doing everything else and when they do go to sleep they are not suppose to because they have things to do around the house or schoolwork.

  12. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average?
    9 hours a day for me.
    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not?
    yes because i get with no atticered

  13. 1) I get about 5 or 6 hours of sleep on average.
    2) I don’t think that this enough sleep to be successful in the morning at school because i have no energy and I really don’t feel like doing anything because I can’t keep my eyes open.

  14. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average?at least 8 hours

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not?yes i do because that is the average sleep for most teenagers

  15. 3) Tell me 3 things you learned from the videos.that some teenagers don’t get enough sleep their brains aren’t functioning in the mornings because they don’t have enough and they say to believe that if kids get enough sleep they’ll be more alert in class

    4) How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep?well sometimes i do an i don’t get enough sleep depending on how i feel or if im ready to go to sleep

  16. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average? The average amout of sleep i have is like 7 or 8 hrs of sleep.

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not? No it is not because i still be sleepy and tired.

  17. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average?I get 8 hours of sleep

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not
    yes because i dont go to sleep in my classes

  18. 1. How many hours of sleep i get on a average day is about 7 or 8 hours of sleep.
    2.Yes i do because not having enough sleep can be bad for school..so like missing out on important notes that you need for class or other important information that you needc to be successful in school.
    3.three things i learned from this video is that sleep is very important for teens. if you dont get enought sleep you can miss out on alot of things. sleep keeps you energetic and healthy. less sleep can can be bad health.
    4.that when i go to school sometimes sleep gets ahold of me because i dont get enough sleep at home and when i think a class is boreing i take the advantage to sleep during class. but at times i attend to miss out on important lessons and important notes.

  19. 3)Tell me 3 things you learned from the videos
    I learned that If you dont get i lot of sleep then you well have a bad day.
    4) How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep?Well they tell me to go to sleep in a good time.

  20. 1) How many hours of sleep do you get on average? I get about an average of 8 hours of sleep.

    2) Do you think this is enough sleep in order to be successful at school? Why or Why not? Yes i think this is enough sleep long as you have a good breakfast you should be great!1.)From the videos I learned that sleep patterns change with the start of puberty. Most teens get an average of 7 1/2 hours of sleep. Teens need at least 9 hours of sleep per night.

    2.) it’s hard for me to get in the morning as well.

  21. 3) I learned that teens are not getting enough sleep at night and it is showing, in school. Also teen average only 7 hours each day.
    4) I can relate because even I only get 7 hours of sleep but I still do good in school but sometimes I don’t feel to enthusied while being in school.

  22. 3) Tell me 3 things you learned from the videos.
    1.Teens dont get enough sleep
    2.they had two teens get a sleep study
    3.teens need 9 hours of sleep

    4) How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep? i can relate because i dont get enough sleep sometimes

  23. 1.) I get an average of 8-10 hours of sleep.

    2.) Yes I do think it’s enough for me to have in order to be successful at school because i be fully rested.

    3.) teens dont get enough sleep.
    They had two teens get a sleep study.
    Teens need 9 hours of sleep.

    4. How can you relate to what the video is saying about teens and sleep? I Agree cause i dont get enough sleep.

  24. 1.I learned that teens dont get all their sleep because at night their either watching tv, on the computer or on their cellphone.
    2 . I learned that you should get at least to 8 hours of sleep.
    3. Two teens had got an teen study on sleep.

    2 . I can relate to the video because somwetimes I get up to at least 8 hours of sleep.

Leave a Reply

