March 4-6th: Flocabulary-Muhammad Ali

Objectives:

Students will work on grade level vocabulary with the help of media

Students will understand how to use context clues to help them better understand unknown words.

Students will see relationships between words.

Students will practice reading comprehension.

Flocabulary Link: http://www.flocabulary.com/2-muhammad-ali/

1) Watch music video

2) Go to the lyrics and click on the highlighted words in the lyrics.  You will see a picture that helps you un

3) For each new word, blog a sentence that demonstrates your understanding of the word.

4) For each word, give a definition in your own words,.

5) For each word, tell me what the word is like and what it is not like.

ex:  Heritage is like…

Heritage is not like…

38 thoughts on “March 4-6th: Flocabulary-Muhammad Ali

  1. When puching the bag i grappled every punch.

    My family has been around the city a long time and is keeping the heritage going.

    I was a mien so the city did not fear me.

    On the court i am agile!

    In this new era we wear snapbacks and tattoos.

    She’s been mean looking people all day like she has a stance.

  2. My mother said i mused to much.

    I was pivotal to my team they needed me.

    I dubbed answer B on my test.

    This women is really audacious!

  3. grappled Attach to something or idea.
    heritage What runs in the family or how something is usually done
    mien Apperance or how you present yourself
    agile Flexible
    era Something or idea around a period of time
    muse To think about something
    pivotal A critical moment
    dubbed To choose
    audacious Bold
    muster To summon
    stamina Lung capacity
    exceptional Unusual
    legendary Well known
    crusade A mission

  4. Grappled- She was going through a lot of grapple when she found out she had cancer.

    Heritage- My grandmother has lived in the same house her whole life she is very proud of her heritage.

    Mein- Their home is very mein.

    Agile- The runner moved with agile.

  5. I musterd up alot of money the last few days.

    During the game i had lots of stamina.

    She gets on my nerves a lot but she is exceptional.

    In music i want to be legendary.

  6. Grappling is like the struggle of something phyically and emotionally. This is not like thinking

    Heritage is like my families been mostly in st.louis for generations. This is not like a family reunion

  7. grappled is like “I get what your saying” Not like “i DONT GET WHAT YOUR SAYING”.
    heritage is like “Wreastling” Not like “Eating”.
    mien is like “Swagg” Not like “Personality”.
    agile
    era
    muse
    pivotal
    dubbed
    audacious
    muster
    stamina
    exceptional
    legendary
    crusade

  8. Agile is like M.Jordan when he played basketball. This is not like a linemen on the football team

    Era is like our trend the way we wear things now. This is not like people walking!

    Stance is like what i have in school sometimes. This is not like being good.

  9. Muse is like me musing the problem. This is not like caring

    Privotal is like me being very important to my team. this is not like a bench player!

    Dubbed is like when a baby first comes to earth. This is not like looking at tv.

  10. audacious is like a bold person. This is not like being a respectful person.

    muster is like gather something. This is not like not gathering nothing

    Stamina is like having lots of energy. This is not like standing around.

  11. I was grappled when I saw my grade in my piano class this year.
    I was agile when I was at dance class last week .
    This girl was cheers last weekend and she pivotal Fell on the ground and hurt her self.
    My mom always tell me my problem when I had. A muse.
    I had to audacious when I had to practices the piano everyday so I can get better at it
    My aunite always do a stamina when she have to go to mile run .

  12. In wresting the wrestler grapples their opponent .

    My family has a heritage of African Americans

    I was a mien so the city did not fear me.

    I am agile when I’m writing poems.

    In this new era we have many different weird styles.

    A ballerina has a stance before a performance .

    I mused about home when I’m at school.

    My class work is very pivotal .

    He was a dubbed hero .

    Evil Kneviel is audacious.

  13. Grappled-Attach to something or idea.

    Heritage- What runs in the family or how something is usually done

    Mien-Appearance or how you present yourself

    Agile-Flexible

    Era-Something or idea around a period of time

    Muse-To think about something

    Pivotal-A critical moment

    Dubbed-To choose

    Audacious-Bold

    Muster-To summon

    Stamina-Lung capacity

    Exceptional-Unusual

    Legendary-Well known

    Crusade-A mission

  14. This boy was a muster when he have to play the drum at his correct this weekend.
    The kids from skew. Have to do a execptional when they have to do the spelling bee this year.
    The wars was crusade when they have to fight for the other war.

  15. Grapple-i grapple with the idea of word problems
    Heritage-my heritage is to go to family vacations
    Mein-is the way a person holds them self in a fashionable way
    Agile-it’s how someone moves with eases and flexibility
    Era-the time of year
    Stance-the way you have a additude or pose toward something
    Muse-to think on something with emotion
    Pivotal-a sudden change
    Dub-to give a name
    Audacious-to be bold or daring
    Muster-to gather
    Stamina-to have endurance , to go alone time
    Exceptional-unusual
    Legendary- well known
    Crusade-a milatary general to campaign

  16. In wresting the wrestler grapples their opponent .

    My family has a heritage of African Americans

    I was a mien so the city did not fear me.

    I am agile when I’m writing poems.

    In this new era we have many different weird styles.

    A ballerina has a stance before a performance .

    I mused about home when I’m at school.

    My class work is very pivotal .

    He was a dubbed hero .

    Evil Kneviel is audacious.
    Darryl says:
    March 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm
    Mien is like me being a respectful mien. This is not like a person thinking

    Reply
    Darryl says:
    March 6, 2013 at 1:28 pm
    Agile is like M.Jordan when he played basketball. This is not like a linemen on the football team

    Era is like our trend the way we wear things now. This is not like people walking!

    Stance is like what i have in school sometimes. This is not like being good.

    Reply
    Darryl says:
    March 6, 2013 at 1:32 pm
    Muse is like me musing the problem. This is not like caring

    Privotal is like me being very important to my team. this is not like a bench player!

    Dubbed is like when a baby first comes to earth. This is not like looking at tv.

    Reply
    Darryl says:
    March 6, 2013 at 1:35 pm
    audacious is like a bold person. This is not like being a respectful person.

    muster is like gather something. This is not like not gathering nothing

    Stamina is like having lots of energy. This is not like standing around.

  17. Ms.Matthews grappled her face a lot this morning.
    The heritage of the School’s track team has been lived through young students every year.
    When ever you go to an interview always carry yourself as a mien.
    On the football field I become very agile when in game mode.
    This era is very different from the past.
    Floyd Mayweather stance when he boxes can be scary at times.
    My teacher told me I mused too much, instead of just falling my first mind.
    Education is very pivotal to some one young trying to be successful in life.
    Deon was dubbed All-State running back in class 3A.
    I can be audacious when I have nothing to do.

  18. 1.Grab to attach to the bag.
    2. Heritage to have something passed downed through the years.
    3.mien is your appearance
    4.agile to be quick and light footed.
    5.era means period of in history.
    6.pivotal means a moment.
    7.muster to gather or summon.
    8. Stamina means how your bodies built.

  19. Grappled-Attach to something or idea.
    I had to grapple the fact that my grandma died

    Heritage- What runs in the family or how something is usually done
    It’s in my heritage that we have long think hair .

    Mien-Appearance or how you present yourself
    My mien is very classy

    Agile-Flexible
    I am very agile on the pole

    Era-Something or idea around a period of time
    In my mom era she was wore the same stuff I wear .

    Muse-To think about something
    I had to muse if I liked him or not

    Pivotal-A critical moment
    When my cousin got shot it was very pivotal

    Dubbed-To choose
    I had to dubbed on which snack to get for lunch !
    Audacious-Bold
    My brother is so audacious for walking in the bathroom while I was in there .

    Stamina-Lung capacity
    I had a lot of stamina to run that fast
    Exceptional-Unusual
    My sister is very exceptional for her style
    Legendary-Well known
    Whitney Huston is a legendary singer

    Crusade-A mission
    Me and my hgs was on a crusade last night .

  20. 1.Grappled-To fight against.
    2.Mien-To have good behavior or appearance.
    3.Heritage-A family tradition.
    4.Stance-A awkward position.
    5.Era-A new beginning
    6.Muse-To over think on something.
    7.Agile-flexible easy to move.
    8.Pivotal- very important
    9.Dubbed-To pick.
    10.Legendary-the worlds greatest.
    11.Muster-to draw out.
    12.Stamina-strength
    13.Exceptional- great
    14.Crusade-mission
    15.Audacious- to do things in a bold way

    1. My mother grappled against the court.
    2. Shantelle told me I had good miens.
    3.Mrs.Mathews told us about her heritage.
    4.Coach Brown told me to get in my Stance and tackle the ball carrier.
    5. Dragon Ball Z made a new era in the history of cartoons

  21. 1) The track runners were fast and agile.
    Agile means fast and quick.
    Agile is like a cheetah. Agile isn’t like a turtle.

    2) The wrestlers grappled each other.
    Grapple means to struggle physically or mentally.
    Grapple is like understanding algebra. Grapple isn’t like a nerd.

    3) Micheal Jackson would be considered legendary.
    Legendary means famous.
    Legendary is like Oprah. Legendary isn’t like me..

    4) The way she start to act was exceptional.
    Exceptional means unusual or abnormal.
    Exceptional is like when someone on drugs. It isn’t like someone who stays the same.

    5) The young boy was audacious and rude.
    Audacious means bold and daring.
    Audacious is like taking someone else’s stuff from them. It isn’t like being nice and generous.

    6) This was the most pivotal part of his life.
    Pivotal means valuable. It is like life changing, a baby.
    It isn’t like unimportant, worthless.

    7) This was the era of the Great Depression.
    Era means time period.
    It is like Civil War. It isn’t like yesterday.

    8) The more exercising she did, the more stamina was built.
    Stamina means endurance and strength.
    It is like wrestlers, athletes. It isn’t like scrawny, or an obese person.

  22. Heritage: your past and your family’s past
    My heritage has southern roots in it.
    Heritage is like who your grandmother is.
    Heritage is not like the present.

  23. Grappled-To fight against.
    Mien-To have good behavior or appearance.
    Heritage-A family tradition.
    Stance-A awkward position.
    Era-A new beginning
    Muse-To over think on something.
    Agile-flexible easy to move.
    Pivotal- very important
    Dubbed-To pick.
    Legendary-the worlds greatest.
    Muster-to draw out.
    Stamina-strength
    Exceptional- great
    Crusade-mission
    Audacious- to do things in a bold way

    Sentences
    I grappled my dogs neck because he urinated in the house.
    It’s pivotal that I make to my job on time.
    I have enough stamina to run a mile.
    I am a legendary person.
    I have a good mien when people see me.
    My girl is very agile.
    My mother is a muse person when it comes to track.
    My sister is very audacious when it comes to food.

  24. -Grapple – I grapple most of the time without my cell phone.
    Grapple: to struggle with something.
    Grapple is like math to me.
    Grapple is not like a gym class.
    – Heritage – every year we have a family reunion it never fails and I am proud of my heritage.
    Heritage: to carry on greatly.
    Heritage is like where you are from and where your family was raised.
    Heritage is not like where you are from.
    -Mien – my mien was great.
    Mien: appearance
    Mien is like showing up somewhere.
    Mien is not like showing up.
    -Agile – i was so agile in basketball and will be agile in track.
    Agile: to be quick at.
    Agile is like a cheetah.
    Agile is not like turtle.

    • Grapple: Is to fight against
      heritage: something that=comes and belongs
      mien:Appearence
      agile:to bve quick
      era:ne beginning
      stance:A awkward position
      muse:to over think something
      pivotal:to pertaining something
      dubbed:to pick

      maurquis banks work with me

  25. -Muse- I been musing a lot lately.
    Muse: a thought.
    Muse is like a thought.
    Muse is not like coming up with things at the top of your head.
    -Dub- I dubbed my last pet brownie !!.
    Dub: to call something.
    Dub is like naming a pet.
    Dub is not like not having a name for something/someone.
    -Legendary- I will be legendary when I grow up.
    Legendary: famous.
    Legendary is like Beyonce’.
    Legendary is not like Calia.
    – Pivotal – i will be very pivotal next year in basketball and softball.
    Pivotal: important.
    Pivotal is like having the whole team depend on you.
    Pivotal is not like not having anyone depending on you.
    -Muster- I mustered my stuff this morning for my track practice.
    Muster: get things together.
    Muster is like packing .
    Muster is not like not packing.
    -Audacious- I am very audacious in sports.
    Audacious : being courageous.
    Audacious is like being bold at something.
    Audacious is not like being scary at something.

  26. 1)I grappled about going to the doctor that whole week
    grappled is like complaining, grappled is not like talking about the situation .

    2) The way she start to act was exceptional.
    Exceptional means unusual or abnormal.
    Exceptional is like when someone on drugs. It isn’t like someone who stays the same.

    3) The more exercising she did, the more stamina was built.
    Stamina means endurance and strength.
    It is like wrestlers, athletes. It isn’t like grouchy, or an obese person.

    4)

  27. Grapple: engage in a close fight. This is like boxing.
    Heritage: property that may be inheritance. This like my house.
    Mien: a person’s look. This like the clothes people where.
    Agile: able to move fast.
    Era: the past.
    Stance: the someone stands.
    Muse: an instance of reflection.
    Stamina: endurance.

  28. Grappled-To fight against.
    Mien-To have good behavior or appearance.
    Heritage-A family tradition.
    Stance-A awkward position.
    Era-A new beginning
    Muse-To over think on something.
    Agile-flexible easy to move.
    Pivotal- very important
    Dubbed-To pick.
    Legendary-the worlds greatest.
    Muster-to draw out.
    Stamina-strength
    Exceptional- great
    Crusade-mission
    Audacious- to do things in a bold way

    Sentences
    I grappled my dogs neck because he urinated in the house.
    It’s pivotal that I make to my job on time.
    I have enough stamina to run a mile.
    I am a legendary person.
    I have a good mien when people see me.
    My girl is very agile
    My mother is a muse person when it comes to track.
    My sister is very audacious when it comes to food.

  29. Grappled-Attach to something or idea.

    Heritage- What runs in the family or how something is usually done

    Mien-Appearance or how you present yourself

    Agile-Flexible

    Era-Something or idea around a period of time

    Muse-To think about something

    Pivotal-A critical moment

    Dubbed-To choose

    Audacious-Bold

    Muster-To summon

    Stamina-Lung capacity

    Exceptional-Unusual

    Legendary-Well known

    Crusade-A mission

  30. GRAPPLED
    1)My friend grappled when she found out someone in her family died.
    2)To grapple is to struggle with emotionally.
    3)Grapple is like having trouble.
    4)Grapple is not like being depressed.

  31. Era- The Apple company started a new era.
    Stance- She took a positive stance she went to go get herself some ice cream because she finished her project on time.
    Muse- I mused the meaning of the poem the teacher had read me.
    Pivotal- The meeting at work today was very pivotal.
    Dub- The teachers dubbed the student a graduate.
    Audacious- The audacious student stood up to the bully.
    Muster- She had to muster her feelings for him.
    Stamina- They had the stamina to drive 40 hours.
    Exceptional- The talent show was exceptional.
    Legendary- Micheal Jackson is legendary for his music.
    Crusade- The crusade of soldiers fought against the heat of the desert.

  32. HERITAGE
    1)My family has been living in St.louis all their lives and their proud of their heritage.
    2)Heritage is when something has been going on with you for a long time.
    3)Heritage is like something that has been in your life a very long time.
    4)Heritage is not like something thats been in your life for 1 year.

Leave a Reply

