March 8-11, 2013: This week in the news…

Objectives:

Students will use media to gain understanding of current events.

Students will think critically about current events.

Before you view:

1) What is one thing that happened in St. Louis this week that you heard about?

2) What did you feel after you learned about this event?

3) Look up two things that happened this week outside of the United States.  Post a blog post that describes what happened. Make sure you use complete sentences.

4) Watch this video that illustrates what happened in the world this week.

Link: http://www.flocabulary.com/week-in-rap-march-8-2013/

5) What event this week stood out to you and why?

46 thoughts on “March 8-11, 2013: This week in the news…

  1. 1.) blues beat the coyotes
    2.) I felt good because the blues are doing good
    3.) a meteor hit Russia , new life in water
    7.) the news made me feel like I learned something

    • 1.) blues beat the coyotes
      2.) I felt good because the blues are doing good
      3.) a meteor hit Russia , new life in water
      7.) the news made me feel like I learned something

  2. 1. A man with a knife held up a Bridgeton gas station
    2. After hearing about this my mind frame didn’t real change.
    3. One thing is Korea is threatening America with war, and another is the UN is scheduling a conference.
    4. Done
    5. Done
    6. Yes they were all right
    7. Non really

  3. 1) One thing that happened that happened this week is someone won the lottery!

    2) I felt like no one ever wins the lottery !

  4. I heard about in St. Louis is lilttle baby die from HIV cured.
    I feel sad to heard about the baby die.

  5. 1. St. Louis’ fake mustache record broken in Grand Rapids, Mich.

    2.I Felt that it is kind of stupid because it isn’t important.

    3. Sybrian rebels detain UN observes near Golan Heights . The rebels have threatened to hold the captives until President Bashar al-Assad’s forces pull out from the region. Sybrian regime calls for ‘million man prayers’ on Friday. in an effort to end the violence that has ravaged the country for nearly two years.
    4.done
    5.done
    6.done
    7. Sybrian regime calls for ‘million man prayers’ on Friday. And it stood out to me because the are anti violence

  6. Apparently a man armed with a knife robbed a convenience store, then got caught by the police.

    I feel no different after i read this story than i did before i read it.

    North Korea tested another nuclear missile, and they are getting hit by new US sanctions because of it.

  7. A guy that used to go to McCLuer south Berkeley died a couple of days ago
    I felt it was a messed up situation because people from the school knew of him

  8. This guy named presto passed away and he was a good guy and friend , after this happened it made me want to tell my friends I care about them every day cause you’ll never know what might happen

  9. 1. Presto died #rip
    2. I was sad and had to comfort my family and friends
    3. One thing is Korea is threatening America with war, and another is the UN is scheduling a conference.

  10. 1. The homeboŷ died
    2. I was thinking about life and where it is going
    3. One thing is Korea is threatening America with war, and another is the UN is scheduling a conference.

  11. 1.)people get killed to much
    2.)it make me want to move
    3.)a serial killer was caught and arrested
    7.)a baby had HIV and got cured

  12. 1.One thing I that happen in in St.Louis was the the Thuders won.
    2.I feel neutral about them winning
    3.A serial killer was caught and arrested and a shoot out took place
    7.baby was injected with HIV this stood out to me because I felt sad when I heard that

  13. 1) One thing that happened to me was that I made varsity on the soccer team at Msb…

    2) I learned that I am way better at soccer then I thought.

    3) a baby was cured from aids, and

    7)

  14. A former SIUE student gets five year term for threat attempt.

    Be careful of what you say and what you write.

    Korea is threatening America with war, and a meteor hit Russia

  15. 1.this new born was cured from HIV.
    2. I was sad for the parents of the new born. What if it was the parent first child and the baby died.
    3. Korea is threatening America with war.

  16. A boxier, and a artist named presto died coming to st.louis visiting his family.

    I feel that it dosen’t matter what someone did in the past you shouldn’t seek revenge.

    Something that happened outside of United States Is North Korea threathen the US with a primitive nuclear strike.

  17. 1. One of the most popular former graduate from berkeley was killed.
    2. This event changed my mood in a way . This was well known for boxing and rapping.
    3. . Sybrian regime calls for ‘million man prayers’ on Friday. And it stood out to me because the are anti violence

  18. Korea making treats to us. This stood out to me because I don’t understand why they’re making treats to us.

  19. #7
    The baby was cured from from HIV, this got my attention because for years the world has been looking for a for HIV

  20. one event that stood out to me was the fact that they finally found a cure for HIV. This stood out to me the most because scientist been trying to find a cure for HIV for years now, and they finally did .HIV killed a lot of people over the years .

  21. 1.) blues beat the coyotes
    2.) I felt good because the blues are doing good
    3.) a meteor hit Russia , new life in water
    7.) the news made me feel like I learned something

  22. My granny house got broken into
    2. It made me mad because they stole my granny valuables.
    3. A meteor was suppose to hit Japan but it hit Russia.

  23. One thing that happened in St.louis this week that you heard about? That the Miami Heat won their 16 game in a row

    I felt happy because that’s my favorite team and I can’t wait till the playoffs so they can win their second championship……..#HeatNation

    The event that stood out the most is the Miami Heat win because that is my favorite team……

  24. 1.)1 thing that happened in St.Louis was Presto being killed.

    This got me thinking that St.Louis isn’t worth the trouble. People are hella petty for real.

    3)A soldier, who was missing since 1980, was found in Afghanistan. A former Soviet Army soldier who went missing in action in 1980 during the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan has been found alive almost 33 years after he was rescued by Afghan tribesmen.

  25. 1. A man getting his car took from a maple wood shopping center.
    2. Unsafe because if this is happening at shopping center it can happen anywhere.
    3. An event that happened outside the U.S today is a baby having hic and got it cured
    7. The post that stood out to me is Korea getting Nuclear weapons because this could be dangerous.

  26. 1) What is one thing that happened in St. Louis this week that you heard about? Some Guy named presto was killed
    2) What did you feel after you learned about this event? I hate to hear when people die
    3) A missing soldier was lost for 33 years and found in afghanistan.
    5)i read that other nation are buying nuclear weapons, thats no good if us get an enemy..

  27. 3) A gunman wearing an Afghan police uniform opened fire at a police training facility in eastern Afghanistan today, killing at least two American troops and three Afghans, officials say.

    The shooting took place while the troops were visiting the facility to help train the Afghans, a key part of the U.S. handover strategy before combat troops leave in 2014. According to coalition officials, the shooting also left several wounded.

  28. 4) A surge in the dumping of dead pigs upstream from Shanghai — with more than 2,800 carcasses floating into the financial hub through Monday — has followed a police campaign to curb the illicit trade in sick pig parts.

    The effort to keep infected pork off dinner tables may be fueling new health fears, as Shanghai residents and local media fret over the possibility of contamination to the city’s water supply, though authorities say no contamination has been detected.

  29. 1.A boy named preston died in st.louis
    2.i felt sad for him because he came to st.louis to visit his family and then his life got took.
    3.a women is on trail right now for killing her husband and A man gotta go to court for laughing
    4. A baby was born with a future that was dark and the baby was infected with HIV
    5.What stood out to me was that a baby was born wit HIV.

  30. 1. I heard that in St.Louis its suppose to be 65 degrees on Friday.

    2. I felt sad that they had HIV’s but then had it cured.

    3. -One thing that happened is 5 firefighters hurt in 5-alarm fire at New Jersey building.

  31. 1)One thing that happened this week was that a girl got burned at school.
    2)I felt a little bit sad after I heard about this event.
    3)Two Arrested In Ferguson Murder Case-
    Two people have been arrested in connection with the murder of a man whose body was found in Ferguson Saturday morning.The suspects are Deborah Lewis and James Miller. Lewis was living at the victim’s home and Miller is a friend of Lewis.Both are charged with First Degree Murder and Armed Criminal Action. A police officer discovered the victim in the bed of a pick up truck at January Wabash Memorial Park.The victim’s name has not yet been released.

Leave a Reply

